Over 400 guests from across the globe gathered in the Scottish Parliament today (Tuesday, October 4) for the presentation of the Andrew Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy 2005. The Medal...
Explore this Story
Contact Dr. Ken Caldeira at kcaldeira@globalecology.stanford.edu, or by cell at 650-704-7212   Stanford, CA – The kind of devastation seen on the Gulf Coast from Hurricane Katrina...
Explore this Story
Contact Leonard Garcia, NASA Goddard, 301-286-9486, garcia@mail630.gsfc.nasa.gov; or Michelle Brooks, Carnegie’s Department of Terrestrial Magnetism at 202-478-8830;...
Explore this Story
First Minister Jack McConnell is to present entrepreneur and philanthropist Sir Tom Farmer with the philanthropic equivalent of a Nobel Prize, the Carnegie UK Trusts announced today. Mr...
Explore this Story
Contact Russell Hemley at Hemley@gl.ciw.edu, 202-478-8951; or Dave Mao at Mao@gl.ciw.edu For images, contact Tina McDowell, tmcdowell@ciw.edu, 202-939-1120   Washington, D.C. – Russell...
Explore this Story
Contact Frances Donald 44 0 1592 643 200, fdonald@catchline.co.uk Or Alex Barr 44 0 141 333 9585   Images available from Frances Donald   Andrew Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy...
Explore this Story
Contact Armando Gil de Paz at 626-304-0273, agpaz@ociw.edu; or Barry Madore at 626-304-0247, bmadore@ociw.edu, orbarry@ipac.caltech.edu For images and information about the Galaxy Evolution...
Explore this Story
Contact Jung-Fu Lin at 925-424-4157, j.lin@gl.ciw.edu; Viktor Struzhkin at 202-478-8952, v.struzhkin@gl.ciw.edu; or Steve Jacobsen, 202-478-7975, s.jacobsen@gl.ciw.edu   Washington, D.C...
Explore this Story
Contact Marilyn Fogel 202-478-8981, m.fogel@gl.ciw.edu   Washington, D.C. – Massive extinctions of animals and the arrival of the first humans in ancient Australia may be...
Explore this Story
Contact Dr. Ken Caldeira at kcaldeira@gmail.com, or kcaldeira@globalecology.stanford.edu, 650-462-1047 x204; or Dr. Chris Field at cfield@globalecology.stanford.edu, 650-462-1047, x201...
Explore this Story
Contact Jung-Fu Lin at 202-478-8911, j.lin@gl.ciw.edu; Ho-kwang Mao,h.mao@gl.ciw.edu 202-321-8899; or Wolfgang Sturhahn, sturhahn@aps.anl.gov 630-252-0163   Washington, D.C...
Explore this Story
Contact Maud Boyet at 202-478-8482 / boyet@dtm.ciw.edu or Rick Carlson at 202-478-8474 / carlson@dtm.ciw.edu   Washington, D.C. – Could Earth have had an even more violent infancy than...
Explore this Story
Contacts: Robert Sanders, University of California, Berkeley: (510) 643-6998, rsanders@berkeley.edu M. Mitchell Waldrop, NSF: (703) 292-7752, mwaldrop@nsf.gov Tim Stephens, University of...
Explore this Story
  Contact Sakiko Okumoto at 650-325-1521 x 636, sokumoto@stanford.edu; Wolf Frommer at 650-325-1521 x 208,wfrommer@stanford.edu; or Chris Somerville 650-325-...
Explore this Story
Contact Dr. Russell Hemley at 202- 478-8951, r.hemley@gl.ciw.edu; or Chih-Shiue Yan at 202-478-8959, c.yan@gl.ciw.edu Washington, D.C. – Researchers at the Carnegie Institution’s Geophysical...
Explore this Story
The President and Trustees of the Carnegie Institution cordially invite you to view the   CARNEGIE EVENING LECTURE   Dr. Russell J. Hemley, Staff Member, Geophysical Laboratory...
Explore this Story
Contact Douglas Rumble, III, Carnegie Geophysical Laboratory, 202 478- 8990, rumble@gl.ciw.edu The paper may be viewed at this link http://www.minsocam.org/MSA/ammin/toc/2005/...
Explore this Story
Contact Eugene Gregoryanz at 202-478-8953, e.gregoryanz@gl.ciw.edu Or Olga Degtyareva, 202-478-8948, o.degtyareva@gl.ciw.edu For image click here http://www....
Explore this Story
Contact Tina McDowell@ 202-939-1120, or tmcdowell@ciw.edu   Carnegie molecular biologist Joseph Gall discusses the work of groundbreaking microscopists, biologists, zoologists...
Explore this Story
Contact Sara Seager at 202-478- 8868, or seager@dtm.ciw.edu; Tina McDowell in the Carnegie Publications office at 202-939-1120, or tmcdowell@pst.ciw.edu; Whitney Clavin at Spitzer, 818-354-...
Explore this Story
Contact: Ivo Labbé at the Carnegie Observatories, ivo@ociw.edu, or 626-304-0265; Jiasheng Huang at Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics CFA, jhuang@cfa....
Explore this Story
Contact Carnegie’s Dr. Gregory Asner, at 650-380-2828, gpa@stanford.edu, or Stanford’s Peter Vitousek, at vitousek@stanford.edu The Asner Lab Website is located at http://asnerlab.stanford.edu/...
Explore this Story
Contact Alan Boss at 202-478-8858, or boss@dtm.ciw.edu   Washington, D.C. – Scientists now believe that the formation of Jupiter, the heavy-weight champion of the Solar System...
Explore this Story
PRESS RELEASE THEIR MAJESTIES KING HARALD V AND QUEEN SONJA OF NORWAY OPEN SEMINARS ON TRANSATLANTIC RELATIONS. CARNEGIE INSTITUTION, MARCH 4, 2005 On the occasion of the...
Explore this Story
Contact Carnegie Observatories’ Edo Berger at 626-304-0251, or eberger@ociw.edu   Pasadena, CA – Cosmic gamma-ray bursts produce more energy in the blink of an eye, than the Sun will...
Explore this Story

Pages