Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee: I am grateful for the opportunity to testify before you today.  I have appeared before this Committee many times in my former job as the NASA Associate...
Explore this Story
Stanford, CA -- Increased carbon dioxide emissions are rapidly making the world’s oceans more acidic and, if unabated, could cause a mass extinction of marine life similar to one that occurred 65...
Explore this Story
Carnegie scientists breathed a sigh of relief on Sunday, January 15 when NASA’s Stardust mission landed safely with the first solid comet samples ever brought back to Earth. As members of the mission...
Explore this Story
Stanford, CA – Scientists at the Carnegie Institution’s Department of Plant Biology have found that photosynthetic bacteria living in scalding Yellowstone hot springs have two radically different...
Explore this Story
Washington, D.C. -- On January 20, 2006, Moody’s Investors Service assigned a Aaa/VMIG1 rating to the Carnegie Institution’s Series 2006 bonds issued though the California Educational Facilities...
Explore this Story
Washington, D.C.--New theoretical work shows that gas-giant planet formation can occur around binary stars in much the same way that it occurs around single stars like the Sun. The work is presented...
Explore this Story
Contact Tina McDowell at 202-939-1120, or tmcdowell@ciw.edu   Carnegie Institution trustee emeritus John Diebold died at the age of 79. Mr. Diebold actively served on the Carnegie board of trustees...
Explore this Story
Contact Dr. Richard Carlson at 202-478-8474, email Carlson@dtm.ciw.edu Or Sean Solomon at 202-478-8850, email Solomon@dtm.ciw.edu For image see http://www.carnegieinstitution.org/earlyearth/  ...
Explore this Story
Contact Carnegie Observatories’ Edo Berger at 626-304-0251, or eberger@ociw.edu For image see http://www.carnegieinstitution.org/BergerGammaRay/   Pasadena, CA – Cosmic gamma-ray bursts, the...
Explore this Story
Contact : Dr. Benjamin Ohlstein, 410-246-3003, or 3403, email, ohlstein@ciwemb.edu; or Dr. Allan Spradling at 410-246-3021, or 3015, email spradling@ciwemb.edu For Image see...
Explore this Story
Carnegie Contact: Dr. Ken Caldeira; kcaldeira@globalecology.stanford.edu or (650) 704-7212 For images see http://www.carnegieinstitution.org/temperateforests/   Stanford, CA – Growing a...
Explore this Story
Contact Tina McDowell at 202-939-1120, or tmcdowell@ciw.edu or Matthew Wright at 202-939-1142, mwright@ciw.edu Image at http://www.carnegieinstitution.org/singerbuilding/   After dinner talk...
Explore this Story
Carnegie Contact: Dr. Shauna Somerville; ssomerville@stanford.edu or (650) 325-1521 ext. 257 Or Mónica Stein; msteinc@stanford.edu or (650) 325-1521 ext. 406 For a...
Explore this Story
Royal Norwegian Embassy CLIMATE CHANGE AND GLOBAL INFECTIOUS DISEASES DISCUSSED BY TOP U.S. AND EUROPEAN EXPERTS IN WASHINGTON, D.C. WASHINGTON, DC, October 28, 2005 – From Monday, October...
Explore this Story
Contact Carnegie’s Dr. Gregory Asner, office 650-462-1047 x202; cell 650-380-2828; e-mail gasner@globalecology.stanford.edu For a copy of the paper contact Science at scipak@aaas.org...
Explore this Story
Contact at Carnegie, Marilyn Fogel at 202-478-8981, email m.fogel@gl.ciw.edu; Andrew Steele at 202-478-8974, email a.steele@gl.ciw.edu. Contact at the University of Oslo is Hans E.F. Amundsen at +47...
Explore this Story
Over 400 guests from across the globe gathered in the Scottish Parliament today (Tuesday, October 4) for the presentation of the Andrew Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy 2005. The Medal...
Explore this Story
Contact Dr. Ken Caldeira at kcaldeira@globalecology.stanford.edu, or by cell at 650-704-7212   Stanford, CA – The kind of devastation seen on the Gulf Coast from Hurricane Katrina may be...
Explore this Story
Contact Leonard Garcia, NASA Goddard, 301-286-9486, garcia@mail630.gsfc.nasa.gov; or Michelle Brooks, Carnegie’s Department of Terrestrial Magnetism at 202-478-8830;...
Explore this Story
First Minister Jack McConnell is to present entrepreneur and philanthropist Sir Tom Farmer with the philanthropic equivalent of a Nobel Prize, the Carnegie UK Trusts announced today. Mr...
Explore this Story
Contact Russell Hemley at Hemley@gl.ciw.edu, 202-478-8951; or Dave Mao at Mao@gl.ciw.edu For images, contact Tina McDowell, tmcdowell@ciw.edu, 202-939-1120   Washington, D.C. – Russell Hemley...
Explore this Story
Contact Frances Donald 44 0 1592 643 200, fdonald@catchline.co.uk Or Alex Barr 44 0 141 333 9585   Images available from Frances Donald   Andrew Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy 2005--Medal...
Explore this Story
Contact Armando Gil de Paz at 626-304-0273, agpaz@ociw.edu; or Barry Madore at 626-304-0247, bmadore@ociw.edu, orbarry@ipac.caltech.edu For images and information about the Galaxy Evolution...
Explore this Story
Contact Jung-Fu Lin at 925-424-4157, j.lin@gl.ciw.edu; Viktor Struzhkin at 202-478-8952, v.struzhkin@gl.ciw.edu; or Steve Jacobsen, 202-478-7975, s.jacobsen@gl.ciw.edu   Washington, D.C. –...
Explore this Story
Contact Marilyn Fogel 202-478-8981, m.fogel@gl.ciw.edu   Washington, D.C. – Massive extinctions of animals and the arrival of the first humans in ancient Australia may be...
Explore this Story

Pages