The skies over Hawaii buzz with the propellers of small aircraft. Most of them ferry people among the islands, or give tourists a glimpse of inaccessible locales. But there is one among the swarm...
Explore this Story
Kenneth L. Franklin, who from 1954 to 1956 was a research fellow in radio astronomy at the Department of Terrestrial Magnetism, has died at 84 following heart surgery.
Explore this Story
Carnegie Contact: Dr. Isamu Matsuyama(202) 478-8863 or (matsuyama@dtm.ciw.edu) For a copy of the paper, please contact Helen Jamison at Nature: h.jamison@nature.com Washington, DC – Scientists have...
Explore this Story
Contact Tina McDowell@ 202-939-1120, or tmcdowell@ciw.edu For image see http://www.carnegieinstitution.org/meserve/   Washington, D.C. – President of the Carnegie Institution, Richard A....
Explore this Story
Dr. Greg Asner of Carnegie's Department of Global Ecology discusses laser-generated topographic images in on-demand video.
Explore this Story
Carnegie Contact: Dr. Seth Newsome; (202) 478-8987 or snewsome@ciw.edu For a copy of the paper, contact PNAS at PNASNews@nas.edu For an image, see http://www.carnegieinstitution.org/furseals/image...
Explore this Story
Contact: Russell Hemley at (202) 478-8951 or r.hemley@gl.ciw.edu; or Ho-kwang (Dave) Mao at (202) 478-8960, or h.mao@gl.ciw.edu For more information about the workshop see http://cdac.gl.ciw.edu/...
Explore this Story
Contact Chris Field at cfield@globalecology.stanford.edu, (650) 462 1047 x 201 http://www.global-ecology.org/ For a copy of the paper “Global and regional drivers of accelerating CO2 emissions,...
Explore this Story
Contact Wendy Freedman @ Wendy@ociw.edu or 626-304-0204 For more information about Wendy Freedman see http://www.ociw.edu/research/wfreedman/ See the Carnegie Observatories at http://www.ociw.edu/...
Explore this Story
Carnegie Contact: Dr. Christopher Field (650) 462-1047 x201 or cfield@globalecology.stanford.edu For a copy of the paper, please contact:AAAS Office of Public Programs; (202) 326-6440 or scipak@aaas....
Explore this Story
According to ISI's Web of Science, two of Joe Berry's papers passed extremely high, rarefied citation milestones last week. The following 1980 paper just passed its 1,500th citation: Farquhar...
Explore this Story
Stanford, CA – Tropical plants are able to adapt to environmental change by extracting nitrogen from a variety of sources, according to a new study that appears in the May 7 early online edition of...
Explore this Story
MESSENGER Mission News (MESSENGER website) MESSENGER Team Member Stan Peale was among the researchers to recently announce the discovery of strong evidence that the planet Mercury has a molten core...
Explore this Story
Washington, DC – Paul Silver, a geophysicist at Carnegie’s Department of Terrestrial Magnetism in Washington, DC, was elected as a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences on Friday, April...
Explore this Story
The President and Trustees of the Carnegie Institution cordially invite you to view the   CARNEGIE EVENING LECTURE   Dr. Ken Caldeira, Staff Member, Department of Global Ecology  ...
Explore this Story
Stanford, CA.The American Institute of Architects (AIA) announced this week that Carnegie’s Global Ecology department building is among the top 10 buildings in the country that are “examples of...
Explore this Story
Stanford, Calif. – Planting and protecting trees—which trap and absorb carbon dioxide as they grow—can help to remove carbon dioxide from the atmosphere. But a new study suggests that, as a way to...
Explore this Story
The Lab-On-a-Chip, developed at Carnegie in collaboration with NASA Marshall Space Flight Center and Charles River Labs, has been successfully tested on the space shuttle Discovery.
Explore this Story
Global Ecology director Chris Field discusses his latest work, which demonstrates that global warming has already significantly affected agriculture, in a video produced by the Stanford News Service...
Explore this Story
Stanford, Calif. – Over a span of two decades, warming temperatures have caused annual losses of roughly $5 billion for major food crops, according to a new study by researchers at the Carnegie...
Explore this Story
Contact Ken Caldeira at 650-704-7212, or kcaldeira@globalecology.stanford.edu Stanford, CA – Much of the carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions from fossil fuel burning is absorbed by the oceans. It is...
Explore this Story
Carnegie Contact: Dr. Mark Seibert, (626) 304-0273 or mseibert@ociw.edu   Pasadena, CA – Certain double, or binary, star systems erupt in full-blown explosions and then flare up with smaller...
Explore this Story
Contact Xiao-Jia Chen at 202-478-8924, xjchen@ciw.edu;Viktor Struzhkin at 202-478-8952, struzhkin@gl.ciw.edu; orRussell Hemley at 202-478-8951, rhemley@ciw.edu   Washington, DC — Scientists at...
Explore this Story
Carnegie Contact: Yang Ding; 630-252-4017 or yding@hpcat.aps.anl.gov Washington, D.C. – Scientists at Carnegie’s Geophysical Laboratory have discovered a new type of phase transition—a change from...
Explore this Story
Carnegie Contact: Dr. Allan Spradling, (410) 246-3021 or spradling@ciwemb.edu For a copy of the paper, please contact: AAAS Office of Public Programs; (202) 326-6440 or scipak@aaas.org Baltimore, MD...
Explore this Story

Pages