100 Hours of Astronomy (100HA) is a worldwide celebration to involving the public in the excitement of astronomy. It will take place from April 2 to 5 2009. More than 1,000,000 people are expected to participate! The webcast from Carnegie's Las Campanas Observatory, to be hosted by Dr. David Osip, a scientist working on the twin 6.5-meter Magellan telescopes. It is scheduled for 4 April 03:00 UT (which is Friday, April 3, 11:00 p.m. local time in Chile and Friday, April 3, 8:00 p.m. US Pacific time).

Similarly, Carnegie postdoctoral researcher Mark Seibert will host the webcast from the Caltech headquarters of the orbiting Galaxy Evolution Explorer (GALEX) at 20:20 UTC (1:20 PM PDT) on Friday, April 3, 2009.

Viewers call follow the webcasts at: http://www.100hoursofastronomy.org/component/content/article/34-site-navigation/75-live-24-hour-research-observatory-webcast


 

News Topic: 
Astronomy/Cosmology